Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

engine oil

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' started by ashrose, Oct 22, 2012.

1. hi guys,im new to riding and have just done a second oil change on my 250. i didnt notice this in my first oil change(didnt look) but in this one i found metal filings stuck to the sump bolt.
    i know i could be a handful of things but can anyone give me any ideas on things it could be...and possible results(damage)/remedies.
    the filings where metal.
    is an engine flush worth it how do you do one.

2. Engine flush is unlikely to be of any benefit if it is indeed pieces of metal.

Need more info though. Do the bits of metal stick to a magnet, what size are they, what shape are they, what colour are they, and roughly how many pieces are you talking about?
    • Like Like x 1
  3. the bolt is magnetised and they stuck to that the same as if it were a magnet.
    the size would have been around 2mm maybe 3mm
    the shape reminded me of the filings left after useing a file/rasp on a piece of metal (there more like small shavings)
    and the color some were a dull gray..some a shiny "silver" (aluminium.."sort of") but mostly dull.
    could it have been left there by the previous owner
  4. Okay. If they had a curved shape like rasp or pencil shavings then that's usually indicative of localised "gouging" caused either by misaligned parts or large particles getting around in the oil (which can result from using the really cheap "supermarket oil").