Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Engine oil gone fast, why?

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' at netrider.net.au started by Digitalwingx, Mar 1, 2009.

1. Hello I'm very new to motorcycle so this is probably a newbie question.

Today I noticed the engine oil droped from a bit over half to the bottom on the oil gauge, after about 2 hour of riding.

Maybe it's because I tends to ride at high RPM (4-6k) which caused this? On the owner's manual it says you might need to refill the oil more often if you ride it fast.

I hope this is not caused by something mechanically wrong with my bike... :(

BtW which engine oil should I buy?

Any insights are appreciated.

2. It might help if you advise what year/make/model your bike is... and how many kms it has on it.

3. It's a 2001 Kawasaki GPX250, with 17600 km mileage on it.

4. The most important thing is to ensure you are checking the oil on even ground and exactly the same way when comparing before and after.

To answer you question, no, it should not be using that much oil and if it is then something is seriously wrong.

As you are new to bikes and the fact that the motors in those things are bullet proof I would be leaning towards the way you are checking it.

Does it have a centre stand? If so, use it. Top it up, go for a good ride and check it again.

See how you go and get back to us, we'll go from there.

5. Don't they have a redline of 12-13000 rpm? So 4-6000 rpm is babying it. My old Bandit redlined at 18000 and was ridden accordingly, lol and I used sweet FA oil between changes.