Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

engine oil for yamaha zeal 250 10w40 vs 15w40

Discussion in 'Maintenance and Servicing' at netrider.net.au started by n4spd, Aug 8, 2013.

1. hi everyone as a newbie i just took my bike to a first service, on the report it says changed engine oil Lucas Semi Syn 10w40: 46.2 dollar for about 2.7L usage. i myself purchased 5L Shell 15W40 for my last bike and it costed only 21 dollars from Kmart.

my question is:

1, is there much difference between these two brands
    2, can i use my 15w40 or should i buy new 10w40 (as i checked manual, it does say 10w40 for climate temperature from -10 to 40.

and usually what would be the workshop labor charges for the oil change, as i know it is easy to do and the only thing i know how to do at this stage so will save this money next time.

2. If you use a synthetic oil it wont make much difference if you use 15W40 or 10W40. Better quality oils may have friction modifiers as well. I'm no expert on oils by the way these are just things i've picked up over the years.
    If in doubt go by the book, or wait for some oil guru on here to tell you different.

3. I ran castrol activ 4T 15w50 when I had my zeal, never had a problem with it - I think it's around $30 for 4L at supercheap auto. For the 5 or 10 bucks difference I've never bothered risking car oil in my bikes, some people run diesel oil with no troubles though.

Also used a ryco Z436 oil filter on the zeal many times with no problems at all - cheaper than a motorcycle specific filter and also available at supercheap.

I wouldn't bother with semi synthetic on a zeal personally, just change the oil slightly more often