Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Engine mount bolt - 07 GPX

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' started by pegasus, Mar 10, 2008.

1. I'd heard an intermittent soft "click" as I wheeled my bike around (with the engine off) at the end of last week and after having a look over the bike, discovered a hole where I thought a bolt should have been (there was a telltale circular shadow mark), down near the rear brake. Considering myself still a total newbie, I asked mr magoo if he'd take a quick look at my bike after our rouse hill coffee meet and this is what he found.

View of underneath the bike

Side view of bike (gear shift side)

The only thing stopping the bolt from sliding out was a fairing bracket (2nd photo).

A brief history of my bike :
    Purchased as demo - 18 August 2007 - 1,050ks - 1st service already done
    6,000 k service (minor) done in Sydney on 14/12/07
    12,000 k service (major) done in Melbourne on 17/01/08 (after tassie tour) - included replacing rear tyre. One of the items on the service invoice was "Check engine frame, bolts and nuts and fasteners" :shock:
    Current odometer reading is 16,100 k

Has anyone seen this type of thing happen on such a young bike?

What other things should be thoroughly checked for possible damage when the bike goes in for repair this Thursday?

Thanks for all your help with this, mr magoo :) - I could have had a major accident!

Eve :grin:
  2. its ok u have another 2 holding the engine in place.
    Should have been picked up during a service thou.
  3. Congrats on being switched on and investigating.
    It should have been checked in the service.
    Run the tools over all bolts & screws.
    Mention it next time. Its not ok.