Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Engine cranks but will not start - Honda VTR 250

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' started by scanlon, Jul 23, 2009.

1. Hi everyone

I'm a newbie rider. After a long fantasy of owning a bike (my dad had them for years) I finally took the plunge and bought one. I'd describe it as a bit of fun, more than a daily ride.

I've had the bike for about a year, and I suspect the infrequency of recent usage may have something to do with the problem.

Bike model: Honda VTR 250
    Kilometers: 35,000
    Other details: Battery lost charge about 3 weeks ago, and a bike friend brought over their charger, dropped it back in, and no problems since. Have been checking since to make sure it is holding charge ok & no issues. Plan to buy a new one with these current problems, but I know battery is not the issue as I re-charged it again to full, and still won't start.

Bike started no worries last night, but this morning (cold) the engine cranked over well, but did not fire.

Bike friend suggested pulling out the plugs and checking for spark through contact with external engine block & pressing start, and bike cranks but no spark. He thinks it may be the coil. Hopefully tomorrow I will find out what that means :oops:

The fuel I am using is premium unleaded (98).
    Bike usage is about once a week or so, for trips of about 1.5 h return.

Any advice on where to look next would be great - my technical friend is coming to have a look at it and it'd be great to have some advice on where to start.