Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

engine breaking

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by tluong, Jan 22, 2007.

1. hey guys...i noticed that when im approaching the red lights and i let go of the throttle...i am slowed down considerably. yes i am a noob. i pull in the clutch to let it roll a bit further. would anyone know if engine breaking is bad or any of my actions is bad? cheers.

2. Ok, what you are experiencing is engine braking. It is your friend, and you need to learn how to use it to your advantage. Going down through the gears while slowing, either for a set of lights, an intersection or just a corner, greatly assists your brakes in slowing you and your bike.....
  3. If you search for engine braking you'll find alot of good stuff.

But basically, without fuel pumped into the engine, the bike draws the kinetic energy from your motion, thus slowing you down. The higher the revvs, the more energy absorbed, so the more engine drag you have. Bikes have alot more hardcore engine braking than cars.

It is very helpful in slowing you down, and in normal riding you can get away with using little brakes because of it. Its especially good for slowing you when going down steep hills. As you're a learner you're probably on a 250, which has even greater engine braking as it has to revv higher to get anywhere.

Run a search though as I know I've explained it better than that somewhere.. As I'm sure alot of others have.

Just try to use engine braking/shifting smoothly so you're not jerking around.. errr search for 'blipping' as well to help you with that.

When you're slowing down at reds, I usually shift down to second, then when crawling along I use the rear brake to stop, then shift down. But thats as my 1st gear is really slow.