Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Engine braking?

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' at netrider.net.au started by Fuzzism, Aug 20, 2015.

1. I'm still a bit new at riding and have been stopping the usual way with my front and rear breaks. But then I heard about engine breaking (shifting down to slow down) and was wondering if I should be doing it or how viable it is? Is it bad for my bike?

2. How new are you if less than 1-2 months just focus on staying upright and not hitting stuff. Small steps or you really will end up breaking your bike.

• Agree Agree x 2
    • Funny Funny x 1
  3. There is the argument that it is better to slow down with your brakes - that's what they are there for. Brakes are easier and cheaper to replace than an engine. Occasionally there are times when it might be okay to engine brake, but I keep it to a minimum. People will also tell you to use your rear brake in engine braking just enough so that the brake light on the back lights up to alert drivers behind you that you are slowing.

4. Technically you're engine braking as soon as you back off the throttle, in some conditions it's all you need to slow down, you probably do this anyway without thinking about it.
    For any serious cornering or stopping, use your brakes, your bike has them for a reason.

• Agree Agree x 1
  5. Engine braking is fine, just don't shift too abruptly(aka badly) or the back wheel will become exciting. Manufacturers even recommend it to avoid cooking the brakes on big hills. Four stroke engines are not fragile, they can take it. Using engine braking is a valuable and important tool in the quest for smoothness. I use it a lot more than the red herring rear brake.