Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Engaging 1st gear

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' started by Silver-Arrowz, Jul 2, 2010.

1. Hey guys,

I'm still a noob and having some issues engaging 1st gear. When I come to a stop at a long traffic light switch my bike into neutral to give my left hand a rest. But there are times when I try to engage 1st gear when the light goes green and the neutral light switches off but then comes back on then I take my foot of the peg. It's like it's not engaging first gear anymore.

I've tried revving the engine before engaging first gear, rolling the bike back and forth but still no luck. Should I just keep my foot on the gear peg, engage clutch and hope it picks it up?

The bike in question is a 2008 RS125.

2. Sounds to me like you are not putting enough pressure on the gear lever when you are selecting first gear.

Don't leave it to the last second before the light changes before you click it into first. You shouldn't need to rev the bike to get it onto gear either.

Practice going from neutral to first and back again, slightly release the clutch to the "bite" point to ensure it has actually gone into first, while leaving your foot on the rear brake.
  3. Yeah that's what I thought too but I've given it a good hard click and it still won't engage.
  4. click it up to second and back down to first again with a solid hit.
  5. This sounds most likely, your clutch could also not be adjusted correctly.
  6. I've had a similar prob since my last service, I've found letting out the clutch briefly, back in and then it slips into first easily.
  7. Try double clutching? Ie, pull the lever in, release, then do it again?