Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Employment Contract

Discussion in 'The Pub' started by conspiracytheorist, Feb 13, 2008.

1. Just been handed a contract to sign at work, listing me as casual. However the position I applied for was part-time, and I've been working here for 8 months-ish so far. I asked a colleque and he said that no we're casual.. Yet the description of the job when I applied was part time, and on my pay slips it has sick and holiday pay which increases each week - and I've used none so far.

I've sent an email to the boss saying can I stay as part time.. but if he says you've always been casual - do I have any options? Do I just have to lump it because I didn't insist on a contract before? Or can I argue that the job description was part time, and listed as having to be able to work 3 days a week?

I'm rather annoyed as I've got about 80 hours of holiday pay accumulated in my pay slip! Not to mention future holiday pay...

Any help/advice would be fantastic.

2. Thanks for that, but I've never worked more than 28 hours, with the average being 21 a week.
  3. Do you have your original employment letter?

So hourly rate is the same under the new contract?

Casual get no leave entitlements, your rate of pay should be converted to reflect the loss of these.
  4. Cheers for the thoughts alex, I don't think I had an original employment letter, I applied via seek or careers or some such, then went in for interview, then phoned up saying yes you have it please come in. Hourly rate isn't specified in new contract - just that I have to be available the days and hours requested. The description on the site and when I came in was being able to work at least 3 days and minimum 15 hours.

The casual rate is specified as the same pay as before...