Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Emotions and your Bike

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' started by jphanna, Jun 24, 2010.

1. There are people who buy a car or bike, to commute. A person who buys a white base model sedan corolla is unlikely to be passionate about their machinery, unless it’s a daily driver, and they have a Hot Monaro/HSV/GT Falcon etc in the garage…

A person who buys a MBike may do it for similar reasons. It may be a basic bike to commute daily, a sports bike to fang on a weekend on twisty bits, or a cruiser to plod along, and take in the scenery. There may be other categories but im a newbie so add them if u want to.

One thing I have found to be consistent in a few forums, and talking to MBike people at work etc, is the stepping stone mentality. Whatever bike you have, is a stepping stone to a bigger, better, faster, flashier machine in a little while. There is nothing wrong with that if you can afford it, and are driven to get the best you can, but have you been hooked on a bike…that you just cant let go of?

I am definitely emotional about my Eliminator. No matter what I get later…that will be a keeper.

Is there one bike, you have become ‘emotionally’ hooked to, and wont let it go, or regret letting go, if you did?
  2. Pretty much every bike is hard to let go of. Unless it's a hyo ;) ... joke :-s
  3. ditto. particularly when the new owner annihilates your old baby within the first 2 months of ownership :facepalm: (will someone let egiste know he may be gone from NR, but not forgotten ;) )
  4. Im pretty attached to my cruiser regardless of all its drawbacks (they're numerous) and I definitely plan on keeping it.

My other bike has always been temporary, not always an upgrade either but sometimes just for a change.