Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Electrical problems, Kwaka z250c

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' started by pat260z250c, Apr 13, 2012.

1. Hi, so i just got this bike from a friend and it has an electrical fault. i am completely new to working on bikes and almost as inexperienced with electronics too. The story i was told was that my friend connected the battery up in reverse and cooked out some of the wiring (Could it be possible that this bike has a positive ground? i connected the negative side to the grounded terminal and am to afraid to try it in reverse, lol) so anyway, i've disconnected the back end of the wiring loom from the battery, tail lights, regulator etc and separated the wires to inspect and found that one wire had burnt out (running between the regulator and some other component on what appears to be the positive terminal) i replaced the wire and reconected the battery negative to earth, regulator side and the wire started cooking again, no power to ignition or anything... i have attached images (if they work?) of the said wire so any help or suggestions would be appreciated! ](*,)

2. The Wiring Diagram (in German the only one I could find) says no it is a standard Negative Ground battery connection.

The regulator is probably cooked from the original battery reversal. Disconnect it and reconnect everything else and see if the fault goes away. It is 95% likely you will be up for a new regulator.

The CDI should have survived the battery reversal, but it is also possible it has gone, less likely though.

PS: Your thread went to Auto moderation because you have too few posts to post up pictures. I have approved it now, that is why there was a delay in it being seen.