Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

electric bike design suggestions

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' started by moni, Aug 18, 2007.

1. Hello,

Im an industrial design student at QUT in brissy and we have this assignment, designing an electric commuter vehicle. My groups decided on a motorbike (the guys all ride) and my boyfriend told me about this site (he had some starter motor issues) anyways, i thought id post here to find out the opinions of people other than uni students.

Our brief is pretty simple:

'To design a solar powered electric commuter motorcycle that can travel at least 100km's.'

before you freak out and start imagining a bike covered in solar panels, the power will come from excess solar energy produced at home (half of the class is working on this).

Obviously a lot of ideas can come from that brief because it is so broad, that hopefully is where you come in...

what would you like to see in a motorbike?
    what should we bring across from existing bikes?
    what would you like to magically disappear?
    is there something that really bugs you on your way to work?
    do you have any major issues when you hear the word 'electric'?
    if your mate said they were selling their crazy good bike and going green and getting an electric one, what would your reaction be?
    would you get one if it was awesomely awesome like most bikes are :)

any comments/suggestions/ideas would be greatly appreciated, no matter how crazy or random.

2. Hello, and welcome.

Personally, for me an electric bike would be somthing I wouldn't buy (you can't go touring with them), but for a city bike, some basic principle ideas come to mind -