Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Eh? GS500 Major Service says to LOOSEN the head nuts !!

Discussion in 'Maintenance and Servicing' started by lipstikpig, Apr 3, 2012.

1. I am a mature (age) newbie, licenced 2 months, riding a Suzuki GS500 (Dec 2008) naked bought privately in Sep 2011. I've added about 4000km so it has now just over 30000km.

I have the Haynes service manual plus reading as widely as I can to learn about my bike by doing my own scheduled maintenance. I am not an experienced mechanic but I have done plenty of basic car servicing and have tools, so I am carefully following the Haynes instructions.

But there is something there that is freaking me out, so I want advice before I do anything stupid!!

The official Suzuki maintenance schedule says to "tighten" the cylinder head nuts at 1000,6000,12000,18000,24000 km and I assume avery 6000km after that. But it does not give detailed instructions.

The Haynes manual goes into more detail: "The cylinder head is secured by eight 10mm domed nuts .... Slacken the nuts evenly and a little at a time in a reverse of their numerical sequence until they are all slack. Using a torque wrench, tighten the domed nuts evenly and a little at a time in numerical sequence to 35 to 40 Nm."

The Haynes manual clearly says to do this every 6000km/12months.

Now this intuitively seems to go against what I know about heads and gaskets on cars, eg if you loosen the head on my car it must be checked and machined for straightness, and reassembled with new bolts and gasket.

Fully loosening the head nuts seems to me to be just asking for trouble.