Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' started by murchy, Jul 22, 2011.

1. So before I started riding/got my bike, I would never have considered listening to music or even wearing earplugs, despite how often I seem to hear about people doing just that.

Since I have started riding though, I've realized how little sound actually makes a difference, I am usually unable to hear most cars (other than the commonwhores with silly exhausts), even when they are right alongside me.

What are people's thoughts on this?
  2. I listen to music with in ear headphones, so block out the noise and hear my own heavy beats.
    It does change things a little but even thru traffic was never and issue just use an extra head turn or 2.
    but you'll never be able to have it loud enough to block it all out unless your trying to really deafen urself
  3. Agreed, i use in-ears as well turned up more than usual. The only time i've found it a problem was setting off, i never realized how much i relied on the sound of the engine revs at take off and i had to get accustomed to feeling when it was right (aka the proper way).

Other than that, when the vfr was having electrical issues and i had to keep the revs up when stopped to stop it from stalling. Many frequent glances at the tacho ensued.

Whatever you wear in your ears, just make sure the cord isn't in the way and that they are in nice and comfy, i find with mine when i slip my helmet on i have to stick my index finger over my ear/earphone to stop them from being pushed out by the helmet.

You'll find your way, and your beats (prog metal FTW)