Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Ear Plugs - Who Uses Them?

Discussion in 'Riding Gear and Bike Accessories/Parts' started by enforcer, Dec 28, 2005.

1. No - I'm going deaf and loving it

2. Yes - I use ear plugs

0 vote(s)
  1. Afer a couple months riding as well as the couple of windy days that have just gone by I can no longer stand/take the noise/wind that comes from riding.

To save my hearing I've just started riding with ear plugs every time I get on the bike and after riding a while on them I think I should have started using them when I started riding.

Anyway good thread for a pole...who uses them and who doesn't.
  2. I use them a lot. Usually when I'm going to be travelling over 60 and at or below 100kmph.
  3. All the time
    No exceptions
    Wish I'd have worn them years ago
    Hearing irreprably damaged in some frequecies. Riding without them for years probably to blame.
  4. I wear em all the time.

Not only does it cut out the wind noise, it also drowns out all those horrible rattly sounds my bike makes. :LOL:
  5. At this point in time, I've been using disposables and experimenting with various noise reduction levels. (You can get ones that are moulded to your ears: Earmold and audiology shops) There is one higher level which I find knocks out snoring, but cuts a little too much of the engine and Termi noise, so I've opted for slightly less reduction.
    Safety stores offer the more prudent option of boxes of 100 pairs, once you've worked out what your preferences are. They'll probably let you try a few pairs of different ratings to help you decide. :)
  6. Definately use them.

I imported Silent Ear from the states which I recommend.
  7. I have just started using them and they make a big difference with road and wind noise.