Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Ear plugs and your concept of speed

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' at netrider.net.au started by jhammy, Dec 15, 2011.

1. Has anyone else found that riding with ear plugs in really distorts your concept of how fast your travelling?

I've been riding for a few years on and off, but i'd never decided (until last night) that I should wear ear plugs. I have been thinking about it recently and the noise on a medium/long ride has to be damaging to your hearing so I grabbed a handful from work yesterday and popped a pair in on my way home. I’ve worn in-ear headphones before but this was totally different. It was actually quite relaxing.

So what I discovered when I set off was that I was taking corners and generally travelling along faster than I realised (i.e. too fast), and I was really surprised by how listening to the engine must really affect your concept of how fast your travelling.

2. When I did my roadcraft course a few weeks ago a suggestion was made to use ear plugs to give u a sensation of things slowing down. I have noticed I tend to drift over the speed limit more with them in but it sure makes my corners smoother

3. Nup. It's the added sound of the wind and how the brain responds to it.

How I understand it is that wind noise from riding is an exceedingly large information input of the classical senses. The brain can only handle so much information at once before it reaches a point where it hits overload and too much information is being inputted. Signs of overload are your standard survival reactions (SR's).