Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Ducati research

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' started by Marg Hendo, Mar 17, 2005.

1. Hi All,
    I'm a lecturer at Univ of Qld and bike rider, and I'm writing a chapter on motorbikes for a book, Beautiful Objects in Popular Culture. I'm researching why we (riders and fans, not 'experts') choose one type of bike and reckon it's the best (is it style? performance? whatever). For me, I think the Ducati 916/996/998 is the best bike, so that's the topic of the chapter. I'm not trying to prove or disprove the claim. I just want to find out why we think that particular bike is so good. So it would be great to hear from you on why the 916/996/998 is the best bike or best Ducati. Your responses can be as long or as short as you like.

Thanks for your help,

Marg Henderson
  2. Well there is no question that the v-twin sound of a duke is a winner. The roaring sound is well recognised and its definately well loved by all.

Ducati in a way is known as the Ferrari in the motorbike world...so of course people are attracted to things that are out of reach or hard to come by.

The Ducati incorporates great looks, with great performance and is a great package all round. Yet i still prefer an Aprilia.

Just my 2 cents.
  3. hmm.. i prefer the mv augusta :p
  4. Ducatis are nice bikes but cost shitloads to service.
  5. We like particular bikes, because we can see ourselves on them.
    If we can't afford what we want, we make ourselves be able to see ourselves on the ones we can. Every bike has a certain image that certain people relate to - from fat harley riding gang members, to adrenaline junky R1 racers.
    At least thats my semi-drunk opinion, based on my experience of the bikes I like.