Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Ducati 748 For Beginner

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' at netrider.net.au started by Flash Gordon, Mar 28, 2006.

1. How ya goin....Just wondering if u guys can help me out.......Im a beginner, never owned a road bike before, but ive got a dirt bike ive ridden for about a year. Ive got my full licence and everything and im wanting to buy a bike. Ive got my money saved up, and the problem is i dont want to start on a 250. Ive got my mind set on a Ducati 748 2002. Im 21, 6', 85Kg Just wondering if this bike is too fast too start on. And if i do buy it, can i just kinda start slowly on it...Or does it not work like that...?Im not planning to hoon on it, i just love the look of it and want to cruise. Another thing does anyone know what the insurance would be like on this..Just an estimate....Ive got car insurance since 18 with no crash history aswell..Dont know if this effects anythin...Much appreciated

2. only reason i'd tell you not to buy it, is that it might not be the right bike for you. you cant buy a bike based solely on looks, there's a HUGE amount of difference between most road bikes.

ideally, i'd tell you to buy something fairly cheap and get an idea of what you ride like/like in a ride. but if your not that patient, at least have a crack at a few bikes before buying the duke, and if you end up liking it much better, buy it :wink:

you'll either take it easy and get used to it slowly and have an awesome riding career spanning many bikes and many roads. or you'll jump on it, decide that you dont need experience to go quick, and become road decoration :LOL:

either way you'll have a blast :p :p