Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Dropping it straight in neutral when stopping? *total noob*

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by plainfaced, Jan 18, 2008.

1. Hi there.. Ive been thinking about getting my L's (again-after getting cleaned up a few years ago).. Just have a question about braking. Ive been reading a lot about engine braking and so forth.

When Im in my car, a good 70% of the time im stopping at lights etc. I will just clutch in, and whack it in neutral, all the while braking until stopped...
    I will only down gears when Im clear of any traffic in front or behind of me, so I can cruise up to the lights or stop sign, easily...

My question is. Is it necessary to use engine braking and down gear when stopping all the time - apart from emergency braking?? Or can I place it in neutral and brake accordingly with the bike running in neutral??

2. Well considering bikes have a sequential gearbox it would be harder, but i think you should be able to pull in the clutch and click down one gear at a time to get to neutral and just coast. However if you have to accelerate for any reason you will be quite stuffed (as a car you can put it in 3rd, bike is harder).

In the car i always gear down, no matter what.
  3. I'd agree with Meph - better to have the bike in gear and at the right revs so if necassary you can hit the throttle.

And there's nothing worse than trying to take off from the lights and realising the bike hasn't moved into gear after being in neutral :)
  4. Ha.. of course.. Sequential gears - So you pretty much have to down gears..

Thanks for the replies.
  5. yeah, as mentioned,