Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Dropped it, 50 metres from the dealers

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by TheShak, Aug 24, 2013.

1. Took me a few hours to get it all straight in my head as I was having a crisis of confidence in my riding skills. So here's the conclusion I've come to so far.

I am a newbie so if anyone can point out anything I've done wrong technique-wise or have come to the wrong conclusion, please let me know.

So went to pick up my first bike ever (2012 Ninja 250) from the dealership this morning. Brought the kids along to surprise them, and they enjoyed it heaps.

I'd rode on it earlier in the week for a test drive with no issues whatsoever through a few sets of lights. So no issues with stopping and starting and riding in traffic.

Unfortunately, this was not the case this morning.
    I pulled away from the driveway just fine and came up to an T intersection 10 metres away still in first gear.
    here's where it started - tried to take off, stalled.
    Pulled the clutch in, started the bike, tapped the gear lever down a few times to make sure I was in 1st, went to go and stalled again.
    Thankfully its a quiet street and intersection.
    Ran through the above checks again, went to go, got halfway between the two lanes and stalled.
    Once again ran through the checks and went to go as per above and gave it a bit more gas this time... unfortunately, this time it picked up and I hurriedly grabbed the clutch but it had picked up a bit of speed already... and unfortunately, I was still pointed across the road... managed to get it around a bit but ended up dropping the bike on the sidewalk.