Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Dropped bike !

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' started by hph, Jul 16, 2008.

1. Found my new bike on its side at the basement carpark after work. Front brake lever is broken as well as a small crack on the middle fairing. :mad: so ended up catching the train home. Now, I've no previous knowledge of replacing brake levers, how hard is it to replace since Action has one in stock as I 'm hesistant to ride it home without it being fixed ?? :cry: ..

2. HTFU - Just ride it mate

PS: sorry bout the damage on bike. Any ideas on how it would've ended up like that? Cameras etc?
  3. Easy to replace brake levers - just remove locating bolt, remove old lever and insert new one. That's how my last 2 Suzukis have had theirs replaced after dropping them in the garage!!
  4. Lever's are dead simple to replace, I managed it without any hassles, and I am as close to mechanically inept as you can get.

Have a try, if you get it right it's another trick you know, if you can't get it, well, it needs to be repaired anyway so there's no damage done.
  5. spring

The broken lever has a small removable spring still attached to it. I havent had time to check out whether the locating bolt was still there as I was in a bit of rush to get home. It seems to have snapped off cleanly enough
  6. As long as your brake fluid reservoir is OK. I damaged the banjo bolt and air got into the system when I dropped my bike.
  7. Sorry to hear mate..
    only thing worse than dropping your bike, is NOT doing it yourself :cry:
  8. ...and I'd recommend *not* following the advice to ride it with no front brakes. It's a 5 minute job to change over the lever where it is.