Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Dropped Bike at Carpark Boom gate

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by bigbird, Jan 17, 2007.

1. I have been parking my bike in a carpark for a couple of months and occasionally the attendant when I am paying has issues with the ticket.

So one day a couple of weeks ago he very kindy came out of his room and gave me a tour of the sensors in the concrete that I should hit to make my paying experience better.

I always hit the sensor going into the car park where you press the button to get a ticket but I did not realise that there is a sensor under the boom gate (in the middle) which actually validates the ticket as you cross it. This sensor I occasionally missed.

Also, on leaving the carpark after paying, the ticket muncher that lifts the exit boom gate sometimes would not take the ticket and lift the boom gate. I would end up forcing the ticket in and then riding around the boom gate to get out.

Again it turns out, I was missing the sensor. When you are over the sensor correctly the LCD back light on the ticket muncher lights up and it sucks in your ticket and the boom gate lifts up.

So, for a couple of weeks I have been hitting the sensor correctly and all was right with the world.

The other day I stopped at the exit ticket muncher and it refused to take my ticket. I rocked back an forth on the sensor trying to get it to light up and stay on. Finally it stayed on. I stretched over to insert the ticket, not realising I had moved further away from the slot and I over balanced and fell over. Boy did I feel Stupid. Luckily my bike is black and Black Texter pen was all I need to fix up a couple of small chips on my fairing.