Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

VIC Drive thru on a motorcycle?

Discussion in 'Politics, Laws, Government & Insurance' started by mechanism, Apr 1, 2012.

1. I'm new to this whole thing, but i like to pick up my odd Red Rooster or some garbage on my way home from work when I stay back late and can't be bothered cooking.

Can I Ride Thru?

I am curious because you cant wear a helmet into a shop, so I would imagine you cant wear one at the drive thru window.... although i suppose the cameras get the licence plate...

does anyone do this? is it weird?
  2. sorry if this is the wrong place for this question... but i think its a law thing?
  3. its fine if you can manage to do it with out messing up your food or yourself.
  4. i would try but i doubt the person could hear me over my bike! I'd that to kill the engine and "push" thru...
  5. Dunno how it is down in Vic (or even anywhere else apart from newcastle, actually), but here, you HAVE to be on a Bike, or in a car to access the "24 hour" stores: as it's usually Drive-thru only, and "for OHS reasons' they can only server REGISTERED vehicles.

I just have a backpack, lined with a small carboard Box, for the stuff to sit in: KfC boxes, particualarly are flimsy, and having a proper Box in bag helps when/if there there is spillage, too :D

I take my time, at the window: Or even turn off bike, and push, once get into the line: depends on the situation: the point is: take your time, and do it safely.