Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Draggin Jeans Vs Icon Jeans

Discussion in 'Riding Gear and Bike Accessories/Parts' at netrider.net.au started by 1kmodem, Oct 4, 2007.

1. Hi All,

As topic states, I would like to know the pro's and con's between Draggin Jeans and Icon jeans. I know Draggins have kelvar and Icons dont, does that make it unsafer? Icons have double layers... I have leathers but sometimes just prefer to wear jeans...

Thanks for your comments :)

2. I dont know about Icon's but I have Draggin jeans and have come off at 80km/h and they have protected my skin completely, they have a small 10cent piece size scuff and I still wear them.

3. Bit of a noob here but I will take a stab...I believe the Draggin Jeans would work better due to the layer of Kevlar which has a good resistants against abrasion. If the Icon Jeans only have 2 layers of jeans, then you would still have protection...but not as much as Kevlar layered jeans.

I was told Jeans can fall apart easily when you fall off a bike and therefore have minimal protection against bitumen burn. So I think a layer of Kevlar is better then having 2 layers of jeans...IMO.

phong =P~

4. Ive got some draggin jeans, (actually they are a pair of cargo pants) and they are really comfortable, and i feel that the double layer of denim would be warmer than the kevlar. And they do have quite alot of kevlar in them. all down the backside, down the legs at the top of the legs and everywhere youd need.

fingers89

5. I'd definately go the kevlar route. The durability of jeans in a slide is negligible- not much better than being naked.

Some people say that the kevlar is hot/itchy though this may be something you have to find out for yourself.