Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Doing a 4000km service myself, advice wanted.

Discussion in 'Bling and Appearance' started by moforila, Feb 20, 2008.

1. I own a Hyosung GT250, it was purchased at bikebiz parramatta at the end of 2006. I and the owner before me have put 4000km on it, and its had a 1000km service.

I obtained a quote from BikeBiz for a 4000km service, $300 + parts. Now from what I can tell a service at 4000km requires a oil change, change of oil and air filter and other minor safety checks.

Considering I earn $20/hour this job seems more then worth my time. I have no experience with servicing bikes or cars, in fact I have never changed the oil on the car I drive (dad always does it).

However I am fairly technically minded, learn quickly and I don't mind investing my time into learning how to service a bike.

I just got a few questions,

Should I attempted this myself?

BikeBiz said If I service the bike it needs to be done by a Hyosung dealer or the warranty will be void. Will they know the bike was serviced?

What are the chances I totally stuff things up, and the bike blows up and kills me and everyone around me.?

How long would this take a noob like me to do?
  2. Oil and filter change is pretty easy to do, but there's 2 reasons I'd advise caution:

1) Hyos are well known for their quality issues, some of which may be able to be caught early by a good mechanic doing a proper inspection.

2) That warranty card may end up being your best friend. Even if they can't legally require you to get services done professionally (and for all I know they can) you don't want to go making it harder for yourself if you end up having to use it.

$300 seems steep, maybe get some other quotes from people familiar with Whoflungs?