Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Does anyone know a good bike mechanic

Discussion in 'Businesses and Service Providers' at netrider.net.au started by johnno, May 8, 2006.

1. I'm looking for a good honest bike mechanic without the "rip off" factor near or around the Berwick, Narre Warren, Cranbourne area? (I suppose that's asking too much not to be ripped off!). Any suggestions?

2.  Top
  3. I am also kinda new to the bike thing, still trying to find out some more info as my bike is due for a service... it's a CBR250RR and on 32000 km.

I've been quoted about $320-$350 for it. Is this a good price or am I being ripped off?

Thx in advance... :)

4. Very average price for a full service If these prices include parts (oil, oil filter, air filter, spark plugs)

And yes that should include valve clearances... just make sure they are actualy checked... I foud most service centers will just rev the bike a bit and try to hear if they are out... It should also include a carby balance...

Edit: $320-$350 is for a CBR250RR for a CB250 it should be cheeper about $280 from memory...

5. Hi Sajie, I am new to bikes as well, I have a GPX 250 and had a 12k service done about. The $300 mark sounds OK

Cheers
    Brett :shock:

6. Thanks guys.
    Actually, they said "everything except valve clearances". There's a mechanic in Balgowlah (Hart's Tyre & Mechanical Service) gave me a quote of $170, and that's why I am wondering why the big difference.

7. Here's a list of 12,000 km service work for a CBR250, the 24,000 K service is easier...
    • Every 12,000km or 12months
    Change engine oil and filter (Recommend every 10,000km)
    Check fuel filter and fuel lines for leaks
    Check battery terminals
    Check choke and throttle cables
    Renew spark plugs