Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

doctor netrider, did I nearly crash?

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by klavier, Mar 20, 2007.

1. so, its raining here, and I usually take this corner at 110, and because it was raining, i slowed down and took it at 100 :oops: but twice as i was going around, both ends felt light and seemed to slip slideways a bit. Only a little bit, but I definitely felt the bike moving... After I got out of the corner I took every corner after much slower than normal..

my tires are about 70% worn now, and I wasn't leaning over very far - was slightly sitting on the inside instead..

so, does it sound like I nearly went under the armco of the overpass and onto the freeway below??? :cry: :roll:
  2. Sorry, I'm just a lowly intern. You'll have to seek a second opinion...

3. I get that alot and not always in the wet and no your not about to crash...well just depends on how serious it is but if its minor and you catch onto it earlier enough you should be right.
  4. haha... I got my intern papers a few months ago.. but the residents are hiding here... :LOL:

first time I can remember doing this.. I've gotten a few rear lock ups in the rain, but i pretty much never lose and feeling of traction in the dry, and basically never rains here so ive had very little practice in it
  5. I would suggest drop your speed a little lower and see what you get.

Sounds good to say that you are getting a little slip and recovering, but there are a few more variables in the wet, i.e. if you add a small patch of oil to the middle of your slip you might get a more dramatic outcome.

Don't rush the learning process, there are plenty of threads here that offer information on riding in the rain.