Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Do I really need riding boots and gloves?

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by Wazzr250, Nov 20, 2004.

1. Hi guys, I'm a newbie just bought a new ZZR-250 and has just got my Learners . I'm not a young rider (will not reveal my age to protect the ancient! :oops: ) and unsure what gear I will need.

I have bought a $200 helmet, $190 dri-rider jacket (way too damn hot for summer) and that's it.

My questions are...

1) Do I need gloves, boots (such as Rossi) or anything else?
    2) Are there are decent jackets which offer some protection but do not
    made me sweat like a pig?
    3) What would be the best thing to carry stuff to work? I only travel 6
    kms each way.

Any advice would be welcome!

Wazzr250 in sleepy Adelaide

2. yes you need gloves , they are as important as a helmet.
    summer type winter type is your choice but they are a must , as your hands will hit the road when you do , also travelling they will get cold and could cause you to have a accident.

yes , mesh type with body armour , ask scope how much she got hers for .
    i just wear my leather one during summer with a singlet under neath.

A rack for the back is best , and a bag.
    ventura type

welcome to the site ,
    age makes no differance unless your as old as mick or midnight :LOL:

anyway , getting used to the weather is the down side to rideing , but riding in the weather is the upside .

as for wet weather gear
    postie pants are good and cheap , yakka type .for winter

3. for sure

:shock:
    gloves r a must mate,boots r also important.
    u will need to spend good $$$$$$$$$ however its very important and u never want to test the protective equipment.