Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Discs - What to get

Discussion in 'Maintenance and Servicing' started by christophe, Jun 20, 2012.

1. Hi Guys,

I need some help choosing discs/pads for my CBR 250RR.

I don't need anything hardcore ( I'm still learning and far from trackdays etc.) and the cheaper the price the better. But I still want something which will stop me and won't shatter/warp.

My range seem to go from $800 for the pair (OEM), to $320 metal gear (http://metalgear.com.au/mgear-brake-disc-front-leftright-p-6293.html) to $200 for the pair on ebay?

If anybody has any experience and can help out it would be appreciated!!

2. Have heard good things about Galfer discs, should cost less than OEM.
  3. i wouldn't buy the cheap stuff from ebay [the listings from china]. they aren't made to good enough tolerance.
    the metalgear ones are decent for the price, but yeh galfer are good if you have the $$$

on the cbr250 you wouldn't really need the galfers though, I reckon go with metalgear
  4. Have had three sets for the sports bikes from s3 performance on e-bak.

Good price, no problems.
  5. rocky mountain Ebc discs at reasonable price,just got some for my zx9.
  6. have a metalgear disc on the DR650, quite a good piece of kit but i don't think it likes the pads the mechanic put in.
  7. I'm running Galfers at the moment which you should be able to get at a good price through Bike Gear Warehouse, the alternative was S3, which I've heard many good first hand reports about.

The only reason I went with Galfer over the S3's is the brand name & they came on sale at the right time.
  8. If you don't plan on keeping the bike long, get chinese discs. If not get metalgear.