Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Discs in the wet

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' at netrider.net.au started by OldNick, Aug 28, 2015.

1. #1 OldNick, Aug 28, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2015
    So I just took delivery of my new trike. Driving it around the block, wet discs from recent rain. Apply front brake...nothing. Now I was going very slow, as I am new to the trike scene and the block is 2Ha of trees with very winding tracks, so no biggy. Also I was sort of expecting it from my bike days.

However, is there any way to help this? I can remember riding in the wet and only having the rear (drum!) brakes for a scary amount of time when braking.

Thanks for any help

Nick

2. bed the brake pads in first. not much friction until they are.
    water should get wiped off in a few revolutions of the discs, so more like pad bedding... or shit compound pads

• Agree Agree x 2
  3. how old's the bike? Is the brake fluid old? may need changing?

4. Wow I read this title so wrong

• Funny Funny x 5
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Geezus, this I missed, new and no brakes? ring the shop asap... no matter where its being ridden.

• Funny Funny x 1
  6. "did you try turning it off and on again?" :D

are they vac assisted brakes or conventional (for bikes)

7. WD40 is an excellent water repellent. You'll be fine.

• Funny Funny x 3
  8. Water shouldn't make that much difference... Was this the first ride? Have the pads & discs been warmed up and bedded in yet?

• Agree Agree x 1
  9. theres something wrong with your brakes... or the front tyre was sliding and you didnt notice.