Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Dirt Riding - how to get experience?

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' started by nicola, Aug 24, 2012.

1. Hey all,

I'm a newb rider and own a VTR 250, but I'm getting pretty interested in getting experience in riding on dirt tracks. In fact, I'm generally wanting to improve my riding skills across the board. I love being on the bike, but I'm also hungry for something more thrilling than commuting!
    I am projecting into the future and want to do rides overseas on dirt tracks, so am interested in finding out more about how to get experience. What kind of bike is required? What are the big differences between a dirt bike and a road bike? Remember... I know nothing. Hehe.

Also, if anyone in Vic knows of any good areas to ride off-road or potentially off-road training courses, let me know?

2. I'm actually in the opposite situation to you, Heaps of off road experience but new to road bikes, while I'm not really going to be able to give you a comparison I can give you some tips from my experience :)

Firstly, I'm sure your going to love it! It's probably the most fun you can have on two wheels and I'd say it would be less intimidating than road riding to learn skills on as you don't have to worry about other vehicles so much.

The only Issue could possibly be your height? I don't know how tall you are but generally dirt bikes seat highs are a fair bit higher than road bikes due to extra suspension travel required. I'm average height for a guy at 5" 10" and I can say on a WR250F you wouldn't want to be much shorter to be able to confidently get your feet down all the time, so you might have to get the suspension modified unless your tall.