Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Dirt bike training for (newish) road riders?

Discussion in 'Adventure/Enduro' at netrider.net.au started by Devion, Jun 13, 2009.

1. Hi guys

I've been riding for about 6 months now and was looking for extra rider training. Hope it never happens while I'm on the road, but I wanted to get some training to understand what it feels like to get a bike all crossed up (and how to *potentially* recover it) in a safe environment.

I saw this article about a dirt bike training school in the States which is particularly aimed at improving the skills of road riders:

http://www.sportrider.com/tips/146_0808_rich_oliver_mystery_riding_school/dirt_bike.html

I've tried to use the google on the interweb, and do a search on this site but have drawn blanks... does anyone know of a provider of this sort of course in Victoria, or done one themselves?

Cheers
    Drew

2. Get your hands on a Dual purpose bike and come out in the boonies with me,
    Im not a trainer by any means but I get my big KLR into allsorts of funny angles whilst out on the tracks.

Has really helped my road skills too, especially commuting the blackspur in the snow with knobbies :shock:

3. I think there is a Bmw one that's run in a few states. I too looked into this late last year but didn't get around to it due to work commitments.

if u type "offroad riding school" into Google Aus it comes up with a few, but would be good to hear recommendations anyone has for certain places.

4. this wasnt brought on by off a few weeks ago? :p

my best advise is to look for a soft muddy ditch to land in....

5. Stephen Gall and Yamaha used to run off road skill schools.
    He's been around the scene for many years. :)