Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Dirt Bike Beginner and CR 250 or 125 ???

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by ramee, May 31, 2007.

1. Guys/Girls,

Just need a little help and advice with picking a suitible dirt bike for myself,,

I have had no dirt bike experience in the past but I do own a cbr250rr which I have been riding for about 6 months now,,

The sort of riding I want to do is mainly off-road, rocky tracks, open paddocks and a little bit of jumping...

I have been checking out the CR 250 and 125 and am unsure whether or not it is a good reliable bike, can anyone out there share their thoughts and experiences with this sort of bike...My build is 88kg and 5'9ft...

Also I'm going for a two stroker mainly cause my younger brother is pushing me this way saying they are alot more fun and powerfull, not sure on this,,,what are some four stroke bikes that are 'fun'..

My budget is around the $3k mark also,,,

Your help and feed back will be much appreciated...

2. For 3K you can get a good Kawasaki KLX250. If you get a 2-stroke be sure the engine is not stuffed as they need to be rebuilt more often than 4-strokes.
  3. I don't know much about dirt bikes sorry, but the CR250 might be too much for you too handle given you have had no dirt experience. It is decidely quicker and harder to ride than the CBR250RR.

The KLX does sound like a good option.
  4. 2-stroke 250cc dirtbikes are absolute ball tearers, but at your size you'll probably find a 125 a bit too much hard work to keep on the boil.

Best of the lot IMO are the new generation of 4-stroke 250's, although I doubt a YZF250 or CRF250 would be in your budget.