Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Dirt Bike Advice, Newbie here!

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by matty__, Mar 16, 2007.

1. G'day Guys,

I am currently looking for an XR250 but theres a few things stopping me in terms of safety as you'll see below. This seems like a friendly community so I am glad to be here but hoping for some help on this issue!

Ok well I am new to the world of motorbikes and i understand safety is so important and i want to go about everything properly....

First of all, I will be using the motorbike for on road commuting to my tafe which is about 30 mins from here (on a low-traffic highway up the blue mountains) and whenever else i want to get around locally.
    The second main usage would be off road of course, obviously not as much as on road but two of my friends who just got into motorbiking are saying it is too dangerous to ride the dirt bikes on road...

I am not sure how to go about it but I am very much into the bush and love riding in it, so I think by buying a road bike i would regret it.

So any advice on this, please post up! I've been told you can get "road" tyres for the dirt bikes but how would these be on the dirt? Can you get something in between e.g. all terrain...

Now for safety gear, Suggestions for gear for use on both on and off road?

Look forward to hearing your opinions. Appreciate it guys!

2. Nice. I'd love to live in the mountains just for the dirtbiking potential.

I'd guess you'd be wanting the half and half tyres - strictly dirt tyres are $hit on road, just aren't safe. And road tyres aren't safe offroad. So unless you want to be changing your tyres all the time get the hybrid ones.
  3. Thanks for the reply! Yeah i love the mountains :D

How much are these hybrid tyres approx?