Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Different bikes and cornering

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' at netrider.net.au started by suave-1, Feb 24, 2007.

1. Hello everyone, I'm a Newb and this is my first post. As most other Newbs, I am grateful for the wealth of info the users on this forum provide, and hope that I can share my own riding experiences with you all in the future.

To the point now...

I ride a 95' Suzuki Across. I'm stilling trying to find out about setting the pre-load and adjusting any other adjustment settings the bike may have. I've been riding for about three weeks now and believe I've settled in nicely with the bike however (and there always is!) I'm finding it difficult to corner on this bike, it has brand new Bridgestone Battlax OEM tires.

The reason why I say this is not a technique issue (whatever technique I have is still debatable). I recently rode my friends 88' Honda CBR 250 on the same bit of road and I felt like I could take any corner without issue!

The difference was immense, largely the ability to lean-in to corners. I felt entirely confident with his bike which I had never used before, while mine felt like it was going to give way! WHY??? I did notice that his suspension is a bit stiffer and that he has directional tires (not sure which).

Thanks for reading, and if anyone can supply an answer and or solution to making my bike handle better, I'd be grateful.