Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Did a Stay Upright 'Advanced 1' course (QLD)

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' at netrider.net.au started by dangerous_daveo, May 28, 2009.

1. As per topic title I did a Stay Upright Advanced 1 course a couple of weeks back. It was partly Rudd money (the tax return I should have had last year) and my birthday present to myself.

So this is basically my spin on it. I'm also a defensive driving instructor, and do most of my work at the same location. So I guess my view might be a little different to others on how the thing was run etc. (yes, yes I understand bikes aren't cars before anyone comes up with that)

Basic jist of the course, all performed at Mt Cotton (south east of Brissy). There was an optional 3hour seminar the night before. Then the day of riding, did some pretty basic stuff to start off with, being normal speed braking. Then some emergency stops, then some slalom stuff. All fairly straight forward. 2nd half of the day was spent on the 'circuit' its just a bunch of corners like you'd find on the road, with some line markings. More on that later.

The 3hour seminar. For me, I think it went too long, and or started too late. Started at 7pm, so 3 hours after that its 10, 10.15 by the time you leave the place, then minimum 30mins to get home for most people and then and its getting pretty late. Given you need to be back at the venue at 8am the next morning. Maybe I'm being whiny, but I like my sleep especially before a long day learning and on the bike. But it is worth going along to it, most of it is common sense, and 90% of is the same as defensive driving techniques but all the same worth the effort. That and you got some faces to names before the next day.