Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Diagonosing Clutch Issues on Yamaha DT175

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' started by Lachiepower0402, Oct 16, 2015.

1. I first noticed a problem with my bike when my uncle rode it, I can't ride very well, i'm still learning. He was going round the yard changing from 4th to 5th or something like that and the clutch locked up and he was flying towards a barn, so he had to bail off the bike.

The bike has been sitting in a barn for about 4 to 5 years and this was the first time riding it after that period. I'm thinking it might be the clutch plates sticking to the basket? It will need an oil change, desperately. Very old oil, about 8 years old, LOL. Could the old oil do it?

I have also noticed that the clutch sometimes does not disengage when I role the bike while its off.

If it's the clutch, about how much would the basket and friction plates cost?

Thank you in advance
  2. Simple things first, check the clutch cable isn't jamming, frayed etc. Lubricate the cable if it has been sitting for 5 years.

Friction plates seem to be about $85

Basket is unlikely to need replacing, clutch springs probably need replacement, a good thing to do if you are replacing plates. About $20
  3. That was very helpful thank you, I will get round to doing all of this when I get up to my friends place. But my bike is a 1992 model, will these parts still work?

I've also got to replace both sets of shoes and I could not find any parts that specifically say they work on 1992 models.