Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Detuning 600supersport for LAMS

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' at netrider.net.au started by huey, May 5, 2009.

1. I think i posted in the wrong category yesteryday and it got deleted as im a newbie!! sorry!
    Anyways, im getting my learners in a month (NSW) and was wondering if its possible to detune an r6 or any other 600 supersports for that matter. I am not embarrased to ride a 250 nor am i trying to cutsick, i just find i am a bit tall and look contrived on a 250!! i also have intermediate riding skills. Also a highway patrol office told my mate that you can detune a 600, but i just think the officer didnt know what he was going on about. ANY HELP!!!

2. Short answer: no.

Long answer, there are plenty of bikes out there that will fit you, and not just 250's - Suzuki GS500F, SV650, GSX600F just to name the suzuki ones...

3. Australia wide, (wherever there are LAMS provisions), the bike must be an approved model and sold new in that state of tune.

4. This seems a once a week discussion.

Time for a sticky perhaps?

5.  Top
  6. I understand where you are coming from looking for a larger bike.

Maybe take a look at some of the softer offerings from Suzuki

GS500
    GSX650FU
    Gladius
    SV650SU

Rob

7. ive heard a bit about this and was told that double R motorcycles in sydney would de-tune 600cc bikes for learners and it was all cleared with the RTA but after a few months the RTA put a stop to it but double R were trying to get approval to do it again. thats the story dunno if its true or bullpit but a lot of people have seen 600cc sportsbikes with L plates on them around sydney.