Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Defensive driver = defensive rider

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' started by dcart3r, Jan 30, 2008.

1. I just bought my first bike last weekend after selling my car. I've been driving for over 10 years and have always been a very defensive driver. Never had an accident, very few close calls.

On my first ride through some back streets, I was approaching a car that had just turned across my path into a driveway. My assumption at the time was this person did not intend to park, but was in fact turning around. I slowed down slightly in response and sure enough, the car suddenly reverses quickly out of the driveway right in front of me. Being prepared, I was on the brakes with plenty of time to spare and there was no chance of an accident.

My question is, who has made the transition from cars to bikes and either realised your defensive driving skills helped you on a bike or realised you were not at all defensive in the car and now had to be?
  2. I think all people should ride bikes for a while to make themselves better drivers. (and maybe it would make them realise what we're up against out there!)
  3. I started on a bike before i was in a car.
    when I was in a car with friends, i noticed that they were no where near as prepared or observant as I was.
    I had a friend who wanted me to teach him to ride (After I had been in the car with him) and my first advice was "don't get a bike, you are going to die!" this wasn't a statment about motorbikes, but a statment about his observation and preperation skills for encountering potential issues.