Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Dealing with wind.

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by Rolkus, Sep 22, 2011.

1. Hey guys,

So I've been riding for about 9 months now, loving every second of it, although on my second bike.

Over the last week, there has been an increase in WIND in Melbourne. I ride on the Freeway down to Werribee and outbound, there's a lot of flat open area where the wind cruises across and smacks me.

Last week, I had tremendous trouble keeping my bike in my lane due to the wind blowing left. I really had to drop speed down to 80k's and jump in the left most lane. I was leaning probably as much as I ever had on my bike, trying to keep it up.

I've read a few things on body position and wasn't to sure especially when I've gotten two different bits of advice contradicting each other.

1) Lean over the petrol tank, elbows in and lean as per needed.

2) Let the wind flow through you, ride normally.

Tried both, but still get pushed to the side like a St Kilda hooker after the jobs done.

Would happily take any advice and guidance!
  2. I thought this was going to be a Fart thread...

2) Let the wind flow through you ..

Hang on.. theres hope!!
  3. I've been riding today in the fierce wind....and although there were times it got a bit intense - everything was fine....

I suppose the best tip would be to ride normally - IE don't grip the bars like your hanging on for dear life, don't lock your body position (whether that be on the tank or upright)

If a gust of wind hits you - keep the bike tracking straight and push your body into the gust - this will keep the bike straight without leaning it (y)
  4. From GreyBM via a recent wind thread;