Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Dealer Bike More Than 18 Months Old

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by Lazy Libran, Aug 6, 2015.

1. Hello All,

Been tentatively checking out some bikes and came across a 2013 model bike (brand new with 0 kms) which has about 3K dollars off as being old stock.

The price looks good and comes with the standard 2 year warranty but if it has been sitting on the floors for such a long time - Would it still be in good condition? It's new but would it still be OK?

As a buyer, what should I be looking for? And if I do make an offer, what should I ask them to check?

Thanks fellas!
  2. It'll be fine with a new or freshly charged battery and new fluids.
  3. I'm no expert, but rubber does begin to perish, even without use. That goes for hoses and also tyres.

My question would be:
    Why is this particular bike still there, after all this time?
  4. Silly question but would they be able to do re-charge it or should I be doing it when I get it home.

Oil change makes sense...
  5. I'd try to negotiate a fresh battery as part of the deal, along with a fluids change/service.
    When I bought my current bike it was 18 months old but had only done a few 100 Kms and had sat on the dealers floor for a few months - I got a new battery and service thrown in as part of the deal.
    • Agree Agree x 3
    • Like Like x 1
  6. What bike LL?
  7. YAMAHA FZ8N & 1N.

Eyeing both.

• Like Like x 3
  8. I bought mine when it was 18 months old, with zero k's. The dealer had bought about 20 of the old run out model when the new one came out. By the time I got mine they were down by about 30 per cent of original list price.