Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Day trips around melbourne

Discussion in 'Roads, Touring, Journeys, and Travel' started by Springtime, Jan 26, 2007.

1. Can anyone suggest some good roads for a newbie? Im on the south-eastern side of melbourne. I've mostly been riding around warandyte up towards kinglake and around Mt. Dandenong. Any other suggestions would be muchly appreciated!

2. I'd suggest riding to King Lake West then to Flowerdale and Yea for starters. :grin:
    May be Olinda Monbulk Cockatoo Woori Yallock to Healesville and back.
  3. How confident a rider are you? What type of riding do you prefer doing? How far do you want to go?
  4. Ive been riding for about six months now, so Im pretty close to brand new.... Im really looking for roads that have some nice twisty sections but arent completely leathal.

The road up to king lake is about my limit for tricksyness. Ive done it a few times now but the first time was pretty scary!
  5. I'm stretchin the memory back about 15 years but i always enjoyed the run to sugarloaf resivior a good run or out through eltham towards hurstbridge etc when i lived down that way. Yarrambat is another good run. I used to live in greensborough.
  6. Thanks for all the tips people!!! And thank you Loz for that link!!!! there is a great wealth of information there!!!

Nothing left to do now but ride sally ride
  7. Most of the roads in teh Sth Gippy area are like that
  8. What Mouth said. You'll find some lovely rds in Gippsland...perfect for day trips from Melbourne.
  9. Will also be using that site!.

Some good ideas for a ride.
  10. any roads round gippsland in particular that would be suited to my needs?
    As ive never been down that way I wouldnt know where top start?