Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Dash/Handlebar mods

Discussion in 'Bling and Appearance' started by D1rtyW1zard, Sep 18, 2015.

1. Hi All,

I am a postgraduate student at Monash Uni. I ride a 2011 CBR250R and I used to go to the Saturday meets at St Kilda every so often. At the moment I am doing a subject at Uni about Business and I wanted to ask a few questions.

1. What sort of mods/items have you put on your dash or handlebars. What would you want to put there if you could.

2. If you have put something on your dash/handlebars what was it and what did it take to do it. Was it easy, was it hard.

The only sort of thing I can think of personally is GPS/Phone holders.

2. Generally GPS, heated grips, phone holders, ciga/usb sockets, switches, etc. but other people who have modified their bikes can respond better.
  3. Stubby holder.....

....yes I am kidding...

What DJ said above, but also maybe camera mounts.
  4. Heated grips and GPS, removed tank side cover and seat, ran wiring to where I installed a relay that is energised only when the key is ON.
    Not hard but I wire stuff for a living.
    20150809_143212. 20150903_072628.
  5. Now I know where all my spare non-riding time has gone, I just counted over 20 changes/additions to the dash/handlebar area (including screen and mirror changes). Work ranged from pretty simple couple-of-minute swap overs, to all weekend major wiring/mechanical changes.

1. Heated grips
    2. VStrom Hand guard protectors
    3. LED indicator strip on handguards
    4. UHF radio press to talk switch
    5. Ultra brite indicator reminder
    6. ScottOiler control dash
    7. Zumo GPS (and security cradle)
    8. Trail Tech Striker dash
    9. Additional L/R dash indicators
    10. " Fan On" LED