Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Damned untethered dogs!

Discussion in 'Your Near Misses - A Place to Vent' started by Tylerdurden, Jan 14, 2015.

1. Ok, so I'm a newbie rider, only got 1000 odd k under the belt this time around. So I'm riding back from having the xvs650 in for it's first service and I'm not far from home, in a straight suburban st, when I see about 100m away a woman walking 2 dogs, appearing to be well behaved and on leashes. All good methinks. Not so. As I get to about 20? metres, the one at her right heel hears the bike and lunges out onto the road in front of me. No time to think. Full emergency stop, with a squiggle to the left so I didn't run over the top of it, which worked although I still hit it.
    Good things: I remembered the emerg. Stop stuff, which I do practice. I didn't lock up or skid. The dog wasn't seriously injured. I didn't assault the bimbo dog owner. I didn't drop the bike(it was close though, finished canted over to the left) and there was no one behind me to run up my backside. That 650 stops amazingly well when it has to. Bad stuff. I forgot to haul the clutch in and stalled. I didn't paint a worst case scenario in my head, so I was under prepared when it did happen. Dogs are unpredictable, I know this now. I was probably doing 60 in a 50 zone. Could have been a kid.
    Anyway, probably not much of an event for you experienced riders, but it scared the crap out of me and any complacency I was getting riding is now gone. To the newbies like me PRACTISE YOUR EMERGENCY STOPS!
    Cheers all

• Like Like x 8
    • Disagree Disagree x 1
  2. Yes animals can be a problem. I had a sheep leap out of a culvert and head on a collision course. I felt its wool brush my boot as I passed it, that was scary.