Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

cruising RPM in gear

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by anomalous, Aug 11, 2010.

1. Hey folks, im new to inline 4's, having just moved up from a vtr250 to an '08 cb600f

after coming from the v-twin, the revviness and closely spaced gears of the cb600 have me wondering exactly what rpm i should be sitting on while cruising around in everyday traffic. ive asked a couple of people, and received quite different answers - anywhere between 2.5k and 6k. Im talking cruising at, say, 60 and 80km/hr - the two main speed zones i encounter on my way to work.

the bike redlines at 13k, so while 6k sounds very high to me, perhaps it isnt, relatively speaking.

i'm also finding the closely spaced gear ratios interesting - hard to tell what gear i'm in, and the cb lacks a gear indicator.

any words of advice much appreciated

2. On my brother's zx7r and both my zx9r and my fireblade I find that I'm usually around the 4k rpm mark when riding in normal traffic. As you start to rack up the km on your bike you will get to know what gear you are in based on speed and rpm, no need for a gear indicator.
  3. I keep mine reving around where the power starts to get reasonable so that I can speed up quickly if I need to without having to worry about changing gears. That's 5-6k on my Ninja 250, which has a redline of 14K. It starts to get quite loud and rattly at 7k if your not continuously accelerating so yeah, 5-6 for me the speeds you mentioned.
  4. Engines are most efficient and tend to feel happiest at their torque peak. Check where your bike makes peak torque and you'll generally find that that is the sweet spot.
  5. My fz1's peak torque is at 8250 rpm.

I prefer to trundle around at about 4-5k in town.