Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Cruisers with high kms

Discussion in 'Cruisers' at netrider.net.au started by mullos, Feb 4, 2009.

1. Gday. I found an ad for a 98 Honda Shadow that has 130,000kms on the clock. Im fairly new to bikes and have never heard of them having chalked up that much. Its supposed to have 11 months rego and is advertised for 5.2K which is about half the price of a new one. Good value anyone?

2. I would be thinking that is kinda expensive. Sure its a mid sized cruiser but that is alot of kms.

I just picked up a 2007 Boulevard c50 for about 2k more than that with only 5000km (yes 5,000) on the clock. You make the call but I would say it was a bit exy.

3. jes that's a great deal you got.

Do you know if it is that unusual to see a bike with that many kms on it?

4. According to redbook.com.au, you can expect a 96 VT1100 Shadow to go for about $5000-$6000 second hand: http://www.redbookasiapacific.com/cs/bikes/specs.php?R=115581

That's the closest I could find. I made a bit of an assumption about the capacity as you didn't say, but the shadow comes in 250, 750 and 1100 as far I'm aware.
    Is it worth it? Depends on the bike in question.
    I personally would want something newer with water cooling and fuel injection but it's your money.

5. Depends on the servicing history and 'how' the kms were ridden, if that makes sense. Look at it this way - it's 13000 kms a year - hardly heaps of use. It's not that unusual at that age IMO. Having said that, there's plenty of newer and lower kay bikes out there.

6. thanks for the help guys and the Shadow i was looking at was a 750.