Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Cruiser for touring ?

Discussion in 'Cruisers' at netrider.net.au started by oz_mick, Sep 2, 2008.

1. Hi All,

I am new to the cruiser forums and have just recently got back to riding after 22 years and have now ride a mint 86 XV 750 Virago and an unmint XT250 trail bike.

Anyway next year I want to get a large Cruiser for the purpose of touring,, but I know very little about the big cruisers.

Would appreciate suggestions of suitable bikes especially from people that ride them. Pros and Cons

I am open to suggestions any year/flavour as long as its a cruiser to create myself a short list.

Mick

2. I think the nicest tourer would probably be the Triumph Rocket III.
    I'd end up choosing a twin rather than a triple though. :)

3. Yep they are nice,, I will check them out. Must be a dealer somewhere in Brisbane..

Have you ever ridden one ?

But like you I like the twin,,, but then again if they have the right sound well u never know.

Ok this one is on my list

4. There's a video of a Rocket III modified with a straight-through glasspack muffler. It sounds like the sonic recreation of the end of the world. :)

5. Friend of mine tours extensively on his HD Fat-Boy - a year or so back he did Canberra - Mildura - Port Augusta - Alice Springs - Tennant Creek - Mt Isa and back down the inland route to Canberra. Very comfortable and no problems. (He did use a gel seat cover though).

He has a large touring windscreen and saddlebags but he does ride hard. The edges of the floorboards are razor sharp from scraping them through corners. :LOL:

A few weeks back he did Canberra to Cairns very comfortably.