Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Crash statistics

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' started by Julien, Mar 30, 2009.

1. Yes and I have been riding for less than 5 years

2. Yes and I have been riding for at least 5 years

0 vote(s)
  3. No and I have been riding for less than 5 years

0 vote(s)
  4. No and I have been riding for at least 5 years

0 vote(s)
  1. Hi guys

I am new to the motorcycle world. I am the kind of rider that just really love riding while at the same time not being interested in racing at all.

I hear a lot of people talk about crashing as if it were some kind of compulsory step in any motorcycle rider's experience. I would like to believe that it is a load of bullshit so I thought it would be interesting to launch a poll on the topic. I can't wait to check out the results!
  2. There's no point getting obsessive about the risk of crashing. Practice all aspects of defensive riding, dress appropriately, keep your bike maintained and let the fates sort out the rest.

In reality, I haven't met many long term riders who haven't hit the ground hard at some stage, but in the majority of cases, given good luck and decent gear, it needn't result in more than a few scrapes and bruises and a new war story.

Of course, there's the other type of crash too, but, like I said, it's really not worth obsessing about. If you do, maybe motorcycles are not for you.
  3. That's pretty much it, innit?

Even if (making up a statistic here) 95% of riders have had a crash at some point, someone's gotta be the 5% that don't. Heck, even if it's 99%, there's no harm (ahahah) in trying to be the lucky one. :)

Do what you can to reduce your probability of an incident, and see what happens. :)
  4. Please define crash. :grin: