Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Counter steering

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by noodie, Apr 4, 2006.

1. Hi all, I'm still learning new skills everyday but in the last few days have learned the joys of countersteering. Wow, it's amazing how easy it is to swerve away from potential danger. Only had my licence for a couple of weeks. I live in rural N.T so our licencing is pretty slack. Don't even have to do a stay upright course or the like, just pay $16 for the learners and you've got it. Then within 3 months go for a practical test at the town council, pay $32 and you get your P's. It just seems too easy for an unskilled rider to unleash themselves on the roads. Any opinions on this? :?: :?:

2. They make it much harder in NSW :(
  3. Q ride here in brisbane is too easy. I have been riding on and off most of my life and on the road since i was 15 :oops: i thought what we were doing was warm ups then i found out i had already passed 3/4 of the test i ( i did just the evaluation, just the single day deal)
  4. Unskilled riders and unskilled drivers. It's very common around Australia, but that is the most extream I have heard.
  5. And in the only place in Australia that has speed limitless roads to boot!

Enjoy the freedom while you got it!
  6. Riders who know about countersteering often believe that all riders know about it.

There are guys who have been riding for years and don't know how to conciously do it. Keyword in the last sentence is "conciously".
    Those are usually the guys you hear about who go off the road from a gust of wind....etc.
  7. I did my licensing in the NT, but went the METAL method which does give you the skills. Its cheap and its good.