Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

counter steering

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by Ajawi, Oct 7, 2004.

1. Hi folks, first thanks to everybody, I'm learning so much just reading others' Q & As. Had my Ls for about a month, just beginning to feel a little (just a little ) comfortable. My question- what is counter steering that lots of people talk about? Hopefully it's something I'm doing without knowing what it's called.

2. hey Ajawi, ive been riding for about 3 months, we do it naturally, the more you think about it the harder it becomes - sort of - ...just dont try it in the car :LOL:
  3. Yep tis true, apparently you have to counter-steer a bike to get round the bends so we all do it.

Racers on the other hand do it deliberately to drop into turns quicker, some do it with such force that they bend their clip-ons!

I'd just crash if I tried doing that :)
  4. Your probably doing it, but it will depend upon how much and what type of riding you've done in the month.

You've got the handlebars in front of you, and they pivot left and right. Looking at it you thing that pulling towards you with the right hand will face the tyre to the right and your bike will go to the right (and vice-versa for the left). This thinking would be correct!

Now, if I told you, that by pushing the left handle bar away from you, you would still go left - that's counter steering!